Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees (the Board) at Shining Mountain Waldorf School (SMWS), in constructive partnership with the School Director and the Governance Council, manages effective governance of the school. The Board ensures that the Mission Statement, core values and purposes of SMWS are reflected in its operation.

The Board establishes congruence of decisions by promoting a culture of inquiry, mutual respect, and constructive debate that leads to sound decision-making shared amongst the school’s leadership bodies.

The Board strives to promote an ethos of transparency by ensuring that community members have access to information regarding finances, operations, and results.  Financial Results are shared in the annual report as well as Town Hall Meetings. Board Decisions will be published monthly in the Community Notes.

The School Director is the only employee of SMWS who is hired and overseen directly by the Board.

Individuals who have displayed enthusiastic leadership and accountability during committee work, as well as sincere interest in helping Shining Mountain Waldorf School achieve its mission statement, are considered for service on the Board. The Board also considers for membership on the Board people outside of the Shining Mountain community who have demonstrated commitment to community service and support the ideals of Shining Mountain.  If you are interested in serving on the Board or would like to recommend someone for service on the Board, please contact the Board President or any other Trustee.

When making decisions, Board members must put the interests of the school above all else.

Generally the Board meets once a month, usually the week following the Finance Committee Meeting. The Board strives to focus on longer range strategic thinking to guide the direction of Shining Mountain Waldorf School. The Board handles most of its operational work through committees. Each Committee Chair’s written report communicating all projects and challenges is delivered to The Board of Trustees prior to the monthly Board meeting. Board meetings are listed on the all school calendar..

The first 15 minutes of every regular meeting, from 5:30-5:45 pm, are reserved for community members to visit with the Board and ask questions or make comments.  If a response is appropriate, the Board will not respond at that time, but promises to respond within one week.  If you prefer to ask your question in writing, please use this web form.

Trustees of the Board and the committees on which they serve:

Joan Bremner
joanb@smwaldorf.org | 303-579-2658
Faculty

Brian Buckley
brianb@smwaldorf.org | 303-579-1644
President, Committee on Trustees, Sustainability Committee, School Director Review Committee

Jennifer Colman
jenniferc@smwaldorf.org | 917-587-0308
Marketing Committee, Welcome Committee

Michael Shaun Conaway
michaelc@smwaldorf.org | 310-804-9774
Vice President, Strategic Planning Task Force, Marketing & Communications Committee

Latane´Hill
lataneh@smwaldorf.org | 303-939-9105 (H) | 303-810-3470 (C)
Diversity and Inclusion Committee, School Director Review Committee

Andy Wyckoff Judson
andyw@smwaldorf.org | 303-946-8085
Board Treasurer, Audit Committee, Finance Committee, School Director Review Committee

Jarrett Kovics (on leave)
jarretk@smwaldorf.org

Bill Kramer
billk@smwaldorf.org
Campus Development Committee

Pam Lambert
pam@novauroraskincare.com | 303-499-3150
Diversity and Inclusivity Committee

Sarah Remmert
sarahr@smwaldorf.org | 303-246-5063
Board Secretary

John Mahoney
johnm2@smwaldorf.org 
Finance Committee

Jane Zeender
janez@smwaldorf.org | 303-951-8536
School Director, Finance Committee, Endowment Committee, Committee on Trustees