Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees (the Board) at Shining Mountain Waldorf School (SMWS), in constructive partnership with the School Director and the Governance Council, manages effective governance of the school. The Board ensures that the Values, Purpose and Promise of SMWS are reflected in its operation.

The Board establishes congruence of decisions by promoting a culture of inquiry, mutual respect, and constructive debate that leads to sound decision-making shared amongst the school’s leadership bodies.

The Board strives to promote an ethos of transparency by ensuring that community members have access to information regarding finances, operations, and results.  Financial Results are shared in the annual report as well as Town Hall Meetings. Board Decisions will be published monthly in the Community Notes.

The School Director is the only employee of SMWS who is hired and overseen directly by the Board.

Individuals who have displayed enthusiastic leadership and accountability during committee work, as well as sincere interest in helping Shining Mountain Waldorf School achieve its mission statement, are considered for service on the Board. The Board also considers for membership on the Board people outside of the Shining Mountain community who have demonstrated commitment to community service and support the ideals of Shining Mountain.  If you are interested in serving on the Board or would like to recommend someone for service on the Board, please contact the Board President or any other Trustee.

When making decisions, Board members must put the interests of the school above all else.

Generally the Board meets once a month, usually the week following the Finance Committee Meeting. The Board strives to focus on longer range strategic thinking to guide the direction of Shining Mountain Waldorf School. The Board handles most of its operational work through committees. Each Committee Chair’s written report communicating all projects and challenges is delivered to The Board of Trustees prior to the monthly Board meeting. Board meetings are listed on the all school calendar..

Trustees of the Board and the committees on which they serve:

Joan Bremner | 303-579-2658

Brian Buckley | 303-579-1644
President, Committee on Trustees, Sustainability Committee, School Director Review Committee

Jennifer Colman | 917-587-0308
Marketing Committee, Welcome Committee

Michael Shaun Conaway | 310-804-9774
Vice President, Chair Strategic Planning Task Force, Co-Chair Campus Development Committee

Craig Domeracki | 832-498-3474

Latane´Hill | 303-939-9105 (H) | 303-810-3470 (C)
Diversity and Inclusion Committee, School Director Review Committee

Jordan Jacobsen | 202-549-9928

Andy Wyckoff Judson | 303-946-8085
Board Treasurer, Audit Committee, Finance Committee, School Director Review Committee

Sandra Kirschner |

Jarrett Kovics (on leave)

Bill Kramer
Campus Development Committee

Pam Lambert | 303-499-3150
Diversity and Inclusivity Committee

John Mahoney | 916-303-3781 
Finance Committee

Linda Newlin Kittelsen | 

Ann Raisch | 303-525-5691

Sarah Remmert | 303-246-5063
Board Secretary

Jane Zeender | 303-951-8536
School Director, Finance Committee, Endowment Committee, Committee on Trustees